Making SharePoint Responsive, Part 1

The hottest web trend right now seems to be “Responsive everything!!!!!!”. Well-done responsive websites are a good thing but are not necessarily easy to create. I recently had to retrofit a web application to make it mobile optimized and it was fairly painless, though trying to make complex forms responsive caused some rework. My programmer’s eyes glazed a bit when I told him what he had to do to each field to make it flow ever so nicely. Retrofitting more complex websites seems like an impossibility-it really does pay to be mobile first and design your sites with responsiveness in mind from the beginning.

My latest SharePoint project, a state agency website, was not designed to be responsive. The agency wanted it to resemble ms.gov and the mock ups they approved were of a fixed-width design with a few tricky design elements I had no idea how to build. Because I love pain, I decided “Let’s go responsive-with SharePoint!”. I used Twitter Bootstrap as my flexible grid and I created the base site design in Dreamweaver, as I do with all my sites. I tested it in IE and Chrome and my little media queries were working great. Then I pulled the code into SharePoint. And then the real pain began.

I use Randy Drisgill’s base masterpage as my starter for all my SharePoint sites, so I used it here as well. Unfortunately, for some reason when the viewport hit around 777 pixels it simply refused to respond any further. I removed all of my code line by line to see what was making SharePoint so angry. It was not the css, it was SharePoint, specifically, something being called from my masterpage. So I decided to try Kyle Shaeffer’s v5 Responsive masterpage. I added it to the site as is to verify that it worked before I made any changes. Happiness-it responded, no dreaded 777 pixel dead end. The masterpage has a bunch of controls  I never use so I stripped those out. The css was missing the magical code that makes images responsive so I added that. I pulled over the parts of Boostrap that mattered to me, the fluid grid classes, and left out all the non-grid styles. I integrated my code and voila! After, oh, maybe we are at 30 hours at this point since I rebuilt the masterpage like 4 times, I finally thought I had this sucker figured out.

I found the next issue when I started building out my page layouts. Certain admin screens, like checking in masterpages, site columns, contents types, pulled up an error. SharePoint has such lovely and useless error messages, they might as well say “you broke it You so dumb!” Eh. So today I opened my masterpage on one monitor, my standard masterpage on another, and I went down line by line and made sure every control that was in my regular masterpage was in my new one. The dreaded errors finally went away when I added all of the hidden controls. My regular maserpage had 20 hidden controls and my new one only had 16. Once I added the missing four the error just went away-I jumped up and squealed and decided I had earned a lemon ice for all my troubles.

I am happy to report that so far I have encountered no further issues with my new responsive masterpage. I am currently building out the page layouts and trying to get the site ready to start dumping content into it. I hope to launch this baby sometime next month. I still have several other technical challenges to overcome for this website, but I think I finally feel satisfied that I have created a fully responsive SharePoint 2010 site. I sooo need a nap..

More to come!

5 thoughts on “Making SharePoint Responsive, Part 1

  1. Great recent review of Kyle’s masterpage! Would you mind posting a bit more in-depth about the image resizing code that you used?

    • I didn’t use any image resizing technique other than adding this css snippet:

      img {
      max-width: 100%;
      }

      and making sure all my images had no height or width set.

  2. Thanks for giving us a taste of your struggle 😉 I’ve been there also. Custom MasterPage can be a quite a challenge;) When it comes to image resizing doesnt Sharepoint 2013 have a native solution for this. Seems to be quite interesting.

    /T

Leave a Reply

